Our reviews

My Hosts were so very special...Thank you

-- Margaret M, in room Customer Review Form 21/10/2016

Thankyou for a lovely weekend at Kapiti Gateway, we all thoroughly enjoyed our time, came home all refreshed thanks to your loely comfortable beds and overall accommodation.  Hope you and Russell have survived a very busy weekend.  Thanks again.

-- Marj Ray & family, txt review 22/02/2016

Just thought I would let you know that my daughter and her family enjoyed their stay at your motel.  They said it was easy to locate , clean and comfortable and the people were really friendly and helpful with directions to places they wanted to visit.  Thanks so much for making their stay enjoyable.

-- Lyn M, email review 07/01/2016

Thank you for an enjoyable stay in your beautiful unit. I had a great time and really appreciated the convenience of the train and bus service you have. Especially being a gold card holder!

-- Ron M, Whitianga, email review 08/10/2015

"Hi Viv & Russell,  Had a great stay thank you. Great hospitality and comfy beds.  Will definitely stay again next time I pass through."

-- Wendy W, Christchurch, email review 01/08/2015

Hosts Viv and Russell were marvelous and welcoming! They were able to sort out with no fuss our late booking. And even warmed our room before arriving! The place was very tidy. Nice place to be if you wanna get out from the city.

-- 0407winter, Tripadvisor 07/07/2015

"Thank you for your amazing hospitality. We have stayed in a number of hotels in the wellington region and the service and facilities were the best we have experienced, and for such a good price. It was lovely coming back to a warm room! We were disappointed we couldn't have stayed longer.   If we are ever in Waikanae again we will certainly book in to stay with you, and we have already been recommending your hotel to people we know!"

-- Matthew Y, Auckland, email review 05/07/2015

"We stayed in a ground unit on this trip and had an upstairs last time. Both units were clean, tidy and the shower is great with plenty of hot water. There wasn't anything we had to ask for.
It's a nice walk, about 5 minutes to catch the train into Wellington which took an hour, that was stopping at each station on the way in.
Russell & Viv your hosts are always friendly, helpful and will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.
Thank-you both from my wife and I." 

-- Philip N, Tripadvisor 01/05/2015

Stayed at various motels whilst visiting new Zealand. This property was Very Good.  Very helpful, lovely people, clean rooms.  Would recommend it.

-- Pauline T, from UK 05/03/2015

"Only spent 1 night but was extremely happy with both the service and facilities. Both Vivienne and Russell are great ambassadors for Waikanae and were able to give us some great ideas on how to spend the limited time we had there. The units are beautifully set up and we were very happy to have a pet with their friendly dogs (missing our own pooch!). I unfortunately left behind my own favourite pillow but got an email the next day saying it would be held for me until my return. Excellent service and very happy to recommend."

-- Bernie T, Tripadvisor 17/01/2015

"Great pet friendly motel. This was a last minute booking as our pooch was unexpectedly on holiday with us. The motel was great value and really suited our needs. Russell and Vivienne were very helpful with any questions in regards to eateries and places to walk the dog. The also offered a "ferry" discount which was great. Would stay here again." 

-- Carol B, Tripadvisor 04/01/2015

"Perfect for a stay outside the Capital with easy access by rail or car. Friendly & always helpful. Good everyday shops. Beach nearby. Walk along the river bank was delightful with mix of native & non - native trees."

-- John B, Tripadvisor 03/12/2014

"We very much enjoyed our stay and the unit had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable.  You made us feel very welcome and we will certainly stay again.  It was excellent value for money.  Best wishes."

-- Joyce P, email review 26/11/2014

"Thank you.  The room was fine, and what a beaut heater - whole room was toastie in just a few minutes!  Only took me one hour to get to Wellington Airport"

-- Mary, email review 20/07/2014

"Thank you for having us...it was great that the motel was within walking distance of everywhere my sister and I wanted to go, and the room was lovely.  Thanks Russell for all the great directions...we didn't get lost!"

-- Deirdre and Rose, email review 29/04/2014

"Really enjoyed our stay and found the room very clean and comfy.  Russell was very friendly and welcoming, we were very impressed! ...Many thanks, may see you again when we venture back down that way."

-- Kim S, email review 18/02/2014

"We enjoyed our stay and were very impressed with the friendliness and cleanliness and were grateful you allowed our little doggie to stay as well.  Thank you!  We will be back again and will recommend you to others."

-- B & L Clague, email review 30/01/2014

"We had a lovely stay at your motel.  Was very clean, comfortable and roomy - just what we needed.  We really appreciated it being reasonably priced as travelling with a family is not cheap.  The kids enjoyed the pool.  We travel north every 2 years and will certainly stay again."

-- Debbie B, email review 29/01/2014

"Many thanks - we were indeed comfortable and appreciated the friendliness - and also the nice new trampoline!  I noted the crisp white sheets and spotless towells and we all commented on the generous crockery and implements in the kitchen.  Also appreciated Russell's pegging my stray sock on the line with its mate!  If you are looking for specific ideas for improvement, maybe bedcovers in a softer shade...and the hot water was so hot as to be dangerous for children (I think the legal maximum for tap water is quite low)?  All good wishes for your success."

-- Madeline P, email review 29/01/2014

"Thanks for making our stay so pleasant - it was a great unit, very quiet and had everything we needed." 

-- Sonya M, email review 28/01/2014

"The service was wonderful and our room was lovely.  Thank you!" 

-- Kirstina B, in room review form 18/01/2014

"Thank you...had a good night, place was lovely and clean, will definitely stay again when we passing.  Also, great location, Tiki Joes (Pasta & Pizza) close by where we had dinner - nice food." 

-- Marnie & family, email review 01/11/2013

"Thank you!  We had a lovely time...very relaxing and refreshing.  Waikanae lagoon and estuary are absolutely beautiful and we really enjoyed walking on the beach Sunday night...the sunset over Kapiti Island was spectacular and the moon so bright.  We will definitely be back - Waikanae is a gem and your accommodation very comfortable.  Our wee dog Rocky loved it too so thanks for letting us bring him." 

-- Nani M, email review 01/09/2013


"Lovely cheerful service, well catered unit and so nice and clean!  Thank you for a most pleasant stay, even if only 1 night." 

-- Helen K, Host Accommodation website review 26/08/2013

My stay was short, only 8 hours, but Kapiti Gateway Motel is on my list of good places to stay!"

-- Ron M, email review 20/08/2013

"We needed easy access to Wellington.  Railway Station is within a couple of minutes walk with great rail link to Wellington every half hour.  Waikanae Beach only a couple of minutes drive with some excellent eateries...we recommend Long beach, delicious butter fish.  The motel was easy to book, easy to find.  Very clean room and extremely comfortable.  Staff were very helpful and friendly.  Had a great nights sleep.  Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Kapiti Gateway Motel." 

-- Sharon S, Tripadvisor review 01/08/2013

"We were very impressed with your Motel and services and will certainly recommend you to family/friends." 

-- Christine F, Wotif review 18/07/2013

"Excellent value motel, very friendly people.  The rooms were lovely and clean.  It was great value for money and we would not hesitate to stay there again.  We came from Tauranga to attend a wedding in Wellington...Thank you for looking after us..."  

-- Peter W, TripAdvisor review 01/06/2013

"Amazing welcome...we were travelling with our two small dogs moving house from Auckland to Dunedin...our poor dogs had spent the night before in their cage in the car.  
It was a true delight to arrive and be told this was a pet friendly motel...shown a fenced area at the back where they could run and let off steam AND that they could go in the room with us.  
The room was immaculate - everything extremely clean and well kept.  The motel itself was easy to find and the hosts were lovely.  Top marks to Kapiti Gateway Motel." 

-- Deb M, TripAdvisor review 10/05/2013


HOST Accommodation Group - Hosting is our business.

Book online For Tariff and Reservations